March 24, 2016
UMass Boston's Belisle, Geneseo's Schultz Share STX/AHCA Men's Division III Coach of the Year Honors
Edward Jeremiah Award to be Presented on April 27 in Naples, FL

LAKE PLACID, NY —Two coaches who have brought their teams to the NCAA Men's Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championships — Peter Belisle of UMass-Boston and Chris Schultz of SUNY Geneseo — have been named co-winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award, given to the STX/AHCA Division III Men's Coach of the Year. It is the second such honor for Schultz who also captured this award in 2014.

Belisle led the Beacons to their most successful season in program history, poised at 23-4-3 heading into Friday night's semifinal against St. Norbert College (7:30 p.m.). UMB reached the semifinals by virtue of 4-0 and 2-0 wins over Trinity and Hobart, respectively. Those results followed a thrilling 3-2 OT victory over Babson College on March 5 in the championship game of the New England Hockey Conference tournament.

Geneseo, SUNYAC champion by way of a 7-1 win over Plattsburgh in that conference final, reached Lake Placid with a 7-1 win over Salve Regina and a 2-1 win over Williams College. Schultz and his Knights bring a 20-4-6 record into Friday's early game (4:00 p.m.) against UW-Stevens point.

Both men are in their 10th seasons as head coaches, Belisle's record standing at 145-104-20, while Schultz is 152-99-17 in the same time period. Belisle, a 1995 graduate of the University of Connecticut, was given his start in coaching by his father, Bill Belisle, the legendary coach at Mount St. Charles in Rhode Island. Schultz, a two-year captain at Geneseo, graduated in 1997 and added a Masters degree in 2002.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. Belisle was assisted this year by Tom Murphy and Sean Walsh while Schultz' assistants were Kris Heeres, Len Perno and Mitch Stephens. The Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Men's Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Wednesday, April 27.

stxSTX is a global sporting goods leader in the sports of lacrosse, field hockey, golf, and hockey. With its 1970 introduction of the first synthetic lacrosse head, STX ushered in the "modern era" of what is now the fastest growing team sport. Based in Baltimore, the home of lacrosse, STX has been universally recognized for innovation in product design and development. STX continues to strive for new performance standards in sporting goods equipment at the highest levels of competition.For more information, visit http://www.stx.com.

Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
(Division III Coach of the Year)
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts   1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont   1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State   1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury   1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus   2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell   2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State   2003 George Roll, Oswego State
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson   2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State   2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson   2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State   2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
  Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross   2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State   2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
1985 Rob Riley, Babson   2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich   2012 Jack Arena, Amherst College
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2013 Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2014 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury   2015 Jack Arena, Amherst College
1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2016 Peter Belisle, UMass Boston
1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut     Chris Schultz, Geneseo
1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point