March 24, 2016
Babson's Jamie Murray is D-III Ice Hockey Player of the Year

Jamie Murray, a senior goaltender from Babson College and Scituate, Massachusetts, has been chosen by the nation's ice hockey coaches as the 2016 winner of the Sid Watson Award, symbolic of the best NCAA Division III men's ice hockey player. The 6-2, 170-pound netminder went 14-5-3 this year with a 1.61 GAA and a save percentage of .940. Murray, a three-time First Team All-American, had comparable career statistics: 62-20-9, 1.69, and .940. He recently signed a professional contract with the San Jose Sharks minor league affiliate.

"Jamie has established himself as one of the best players in college hockey as well as one of the greatest individuals in the history of our college during his career," said Babson College head coach Jamie Rice. "It has been an honor to coach such an outstanding, humble and terrific young man. He has often been the difference maker in the games he has played, and he is a player that I am confident Sid Watson would have been proud to coach as well."

In addition to his phenomenal on-ice accomplishments, Murray was one of five finalists for the Hockey Humanitarian Award in both his junior and senior years. The "Humanitarian" is presented each year during the NCAA Division I Men's Frozen Four to "college hockey's finest citizen," based on the candidate's body of volunteer work away from ice hockey.

The award is named in honor of former Bowdoin College head coach Sid Watson, a three-time winner of the Edward Jeremiah Award as Division III Coach of the Year. Watson won 326 games at Bowdoin in a career that spanned from 1959 to 1983. He was also the school's athletic director.

The runner-up for the 2015 Sid Watson Award was Stephen Collins, a junior forward from SUNY Geneseo and Pittsford, New York.

Winners of the Sid Watson Award
AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
1993 Frank Cirone Wisconsin-Stevens Point Forward
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury Forward
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin Forward
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury Defense
1997 Steve Toll RIT Forward
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury Forward
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert Forward
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas Forward
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich Forward
2002 Jerry Galway RIT Defense
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert Forward
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury Forward
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich Forward
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's Goalie
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville Goalie
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert Goalie
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst Defense
2010 David Martinson Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2011 Chris Berenguer Hamline Defense
2012 Jonathan LaRose Amherst Goalie
2013 Paul Rodrigues SUNY Oswego Forward
2014 David Jacobson St. Norbert Goalie
2015 Drew Fielding St. Thomas Goalie
2016 Jamie Murray Babson Goalie