March 30, 2016
Finalists Announced for Spencer Penrose Award Given to STX/AHCA Men's Hockey Division I Coach of the Year

Eight coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2015-16 have been named finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year. Voting will be conducted prior to this year's Frozen Four in Tampa, and the winner will be announced on Wednesday, April 6.

The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference this past season, along with coaches whose teams have advanced to the NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey semifinals. Of this year's finalists, three are past recipients of this award: Jerry York of Boston College (winner in 1977 while at Clarkson), Michigan's Red Berenson (winner in 2008) and Nate Leaman of Providence College (who won while at Union College in 2011).

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAA championship hockey tournaments. The actual award will be presented at the AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Naples, Florida, on Wednesday evening, April 27. The AHCA Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association and sponsored by STX.

stxSTX is a global sporting goods leader in the sports of lacrosse, field hockey, golf, and hockey. With its 1970 introduction of the first synthetic lacrosse head, STX ushered in the "modern era" of what is now the fastest growing team sport. Based in Baltimore, the home of lacrosse, STX has been universally recognized for innovation in product design and development. STX continues to strive for new performance standards in sporting goods equipment at the highest levels of competition. For more information, visit http://www.stx.com, a leader in the creation and distribution of drills and general hockey instruction to coaches across the country.

2015-2016 AHCA Men's Ice Hockey Spencer Penrose Award Finalists
(STX/AHCA Division I Coach of the Year)

Red Berenson, Michigan, Big Ten Coach of the Year*
Brad Berry, North Dakota, NCHC Coach of the Year, NCAA Semi-Finalist
Nate Leaman, Providence, Hockey East Coach of the Year*
Jim Montgomery, Denver, NCAA Semi-Finalist
Mel Pearson, Michigan Tech, WCHA Coach of the Year
Rand Pecknold, Quinnipiac, ECAC Hockey Coach of the Year, NCAA Semi-Finalist
Frank Serratore, Air Force, Atlantic Hockey Coach of the Year
Jerry York, Boston College, NCAA Semi-Finalist*
* Past Spencer Penrose Award Winner

Winners of the Spencer Penrose Award
(Division I Coach of the Year)
1951 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1984 Mike Sertich, Minnesota-Duluth
1952 Cheddy Thompson, Colorado College   1985 Len Ceglarski, Boston College
1953 John Mariucci, Minnesota   1986 Ralph Backstrom, Denver
1954 Vic Heyliger, Michigan   1987 John "Gino" Gasparini, North Dakota
1955 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   1988 Frank Anzalone, Lake Superior
1956 William Harrison, Clarkson   1989 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1957 Jack Riley, Army   1990 Terry Slater, Colgate
1958 Harry Cleverly, Boston University   1991 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan
1959 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   1992 Ron Mason, Michigan State
1960 Jack Riley, Army   1993 George Gwozdecky, Miami
1961 Murray Armstrong, Denver   1994 Don Lucia, Colorado College
1962 Jack Kelley, Colby   1995 Shawn Walsh, Maine
1963 Tony Frasca, Colorado College   1996 Bruce Crowder, UMass Lowell
1964 Tom Eccleston, Jr., Providence   1997 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1965 Jim Fullerton, Brown   1998 Tim Taylor, Yale
1966 Amo Bessone, Michigan State
Len Ceglarski, Clarkson
  1999 Richard Umile, New Hampshire
1967 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   2000 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1968 Ned Harkness, Cornell   2001 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1969 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2002 Tim Whitehead, Maine
1970 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2003 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1971 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   2004 Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth
1972 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   2005 George Gwozdecky, Denver
1973 Len Ceglarski, Boston College   2006 Enrico Blasi, Miami
1974 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2007 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
1975 Jack Parker, Boston University   2008 Red Berenson, Michigan
1976 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2009 Jack Parker, Boston University
1977 Jerry York, Clarkson   2010 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1978 Jack Parker, Boston University   2011 Nate Leaman, Union
1979 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2012 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1980 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan   2013 Norm Bazin, UMass Lowell
1981 Bill O'Flaherty, Clarkson   2014 Rick Bennett, Union
1982 Ferny Flaman, Northeastern   2015 Mike Hastings, Minnesota State
1983 Bill Cleary, Harvard