April 6, 2016
Rand Pecknold of Quinnipiac University is STX/AHCA Men's Division I Coach of the Year
Will Receive Spencer Penrose Award at AHCA Convention on April 27 in Naples, FL

For his efforts in leading the Quinnipiac Bobcats to both the ECAC Hockey regular season and tournament titles, as well as the #1 seed in this year's NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championships, Rand Pecknold has been chosen winner of the 2016 Spencer Penrose Award as Division I Men's Ice Hockey STX/AHCA Coach of the Year. He will receive his award on Wednesday evening, April 27, launching the American Hockey Coaches Association's annual convention in Naples, FL.

Pecknold has enjoyed a banner year in 2015-16 as his Bobcats have compiled a 31-3-7 record heading into this weekend's NCAA "Frozen Four" in Tampa, FL. Top-seeded Quinnipiac will face-off against Boston College in Thursday's first semifinal game (5:00 p.m.) in hopes of reaching the championship game for the second time in school history. In 2013, the Bobcats were defeated by in-state rival, Yale University, by a score of 4-0.

Overall, Pecknold is 445-263-83 in 22 seasons, his win total ranking him sixth among active NCAA Division I head coaches. He has twice won the ECAC Hockey's "Tim Taylor Award" as Coach of the Year, and has led his team to three regular season titles in the last four seasons and back-to-back tournament crowns.

Hired at Quinnipiac on May 5, 1994, Pecknold previously served as an assistant coach at his alma mater, Connecticut College, for three seasons under head coach and former NHL player Doug Roberts. A standout for the Camels, Pecknold led Connecticut College to the 1990 ECAC South Championship. As a senior, Pecknold set school season records for goals (17) and points (47) by a defenseman. He earned First-Team All-ECAC South honors and a spot on the Division III All-New England Team. Playing as a forward in his first three collegiate seasons, he led the Camels in goals as a sophomore (19) and junior (23).

An economics major, Pecknold earned his bachelor's degree in 1990 and added a master's degree in education in 1993. A native of Bedford, N.H., Pecknold played scholastically at Lawrence Academy in Groton, Mass. Pecknold, his wife, Nikki, sons Tate and Rex, and daughters, Cecelia and Georgia currently live in Southport, Conn.

Assisting Pecknold this season were Bill Riga, Reid Cashman, Jared Waimon. All three will be recognized in Naples. The runner-up for this year's AHCA Men's Division I Coach of the Year award was Brad Berry, the first-year head coach at the University of North Dakota.

stxThe Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first ten NCAA championship hockey tournaments. All AHCA Coach of the Year awards are selected by the head coaches in each division and are sponsored by STX.

Winners of the Spencer Penrose Award
(Division I Coach of the Year)
1951 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1984 Mike Sertich, Minnesota-Duluth
1952 Cheddy Thompson, Colorado College   1985 Len Ceglarski, Boston College
1953 John Mariucci, Minnesota   1986 Ralph Backstrom, Denver
1954 Vic Heyliger, Michigan   1987 John "Gino" Gasparini, North Dakota
1955 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   1988 Frank Anzalone, Lake Superior
1956 William Harrison, Clarkson   1989 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1957 Jack Riley, Army   1990 Terry Slater, Colgate
1958 Harry Cleverly, Boston University   1991 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan
1959 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   1992 Ron Mason, Michigan State
1960 Jack Riley, Army   1993 George Gwozdecky, Miami
1961 Murray Armstrong, Denver   1994 Don Lucia, Colorado College
1962 Jack Kelley, Colby   1995 Shawn Walsh, Maine
1963 Tony Frasca, Colorado College   1996 Bruce Crowder, UMass Lowell
1964 Tom Eccleston, Jr., Providence   1997 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1965 Jim Fullerton, Brown   1998 Tim Taylor, Yale
1966 Amo Bessone, Michigan State
Len Ceglarski, Clarkson
  1999 Richard Umile, New Hampshire
1967 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   2000 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1968 Ned Harkness, Cornell   2001 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1969 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2002 Tim Whitehead, Maine
1970 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2003 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1971 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   2004 Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth
1972 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   2005 George Gwozdecky, Denver
1973 Len Ceglarski, Boston College   2006 Enrico Blasi, Miami
1974 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2007 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
1975 Jack Parker, Boston University   2008 Red Berenson, Michigan
1976 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2009 Jack Parker, Boston University
1977 Jerry York, Clarkson   2010 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1978 Jack Parker, Boston University   2011 Nate Leaman, Union
1979 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2012 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1980 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan   2013 Norm Bazin, UMass Lowell
1981 Bill O'Flaherty, Clarkson   2014 Rick Bennett, Union
1982 Ferny Flaman, Northeastern   2015 Mike Hastings, Minnesota State
1983 Bill Cleary, Harvard   2016 Rand Pecknold, Quinnipiac