April 4, 2017
Denver's Jim Montgomery is CCM/AHCA Men's Division I Coach of the Year
Will Receive Spencer Penrose Award at AHCA Convention on April 26 in Naples, FL

For his efforts in leading the the University of Denver Pioneers to the NCHC regular season title and the #1 seed in this year's NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championships, Jim Montgomery has been chosen winner of the 2017 Spencer Penrose Award as Division I Men's Ice Hockey CCM/AHCA Coach of the Year. He will receive his award on Wednesday evening, April 26, launching the American Hockey Coaches Association's annual convention in Naples, FL.

Montgomery has enjoyed a banner year in 2016-17 as his Pioners have compiled a 31-7-4 record heading into this weekend's NCAA "Frozen Four" in Chicago. Top-seeded Denver will face-off against the University of Notre Dame in Thursday's second semifinal game (8:30 p.m. CT) in hopes of a eighth national title for the Pioneers. Montgomery has amassed a record of 100-47-18 in four years at Denver. The Montréal, Québec, native has led the Pioneers to the NCAA Tournament in each of his four seasons in the Mile High City, winning the inaugural NCHC Championship in 2014, making the 'Elite Eight' in 2015 and leading Denver to its first Frozen Four berth since 2005 in 2016. He was named a finalist for the 2016 Herb Brooks Award as NCHC Coach of the Year, won by North Dakota's Brad Berry, as well as the 2016 Spencer Penrose Award as the top bench boss in the nation, won by Quinnipiac's Rand Pecknold.

Prior to his arrival in Denver, Montgomery spent three seasons (2010-13) as Head Coach/General Manager of the United States Hockey League's Dubuque Fighting Saints, winning a pair of Clark Cup championships (2011 & 2013) as well as a regular season title (2013) and GM of the Year honors (2013). He was an assistant coach at RPI from 2006-10 and began his coaching career at Notre Dame in 2005-06, serving as a volunteer coach with the Fighting Irish. Hockey East's all-time leading scorer with 301 career points (103G-198A), Montgomery won a national title during his senior season at Maine in 1993 and went on to play professionally for 12 years in the NHL, AHL, IHL, UHL, DEL and RSL.

Montgomery and his wife Emily live in Highlands Ranch with their two sons and one daughter. Assisting Montgomery this season were David Carle, Tavis MacMillan and Joe Howe. All will be recognized in Naples.

The runner-up for this year's AHCA Men's Division I Coach of the Year award was Harvard University coach Ted Donato, whose Crimson will meet Minnesota Duluth in Thursday's first semifinal game.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

Winners of the Spencer Penrose Award
(Division I Coach of the Year)
1951 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1985 Len Ceglarski, Boston College
1952 Cheddy Thompson, Colorado College   1986 Ralph Backstrom, Denver
1953 John Mariucci, Minnesota   1987 John "Gino" Gasparini, North Dakota
1954 Vic Heyliger, Michigan   1988 Frank Anzalone, Lake Superior
1955 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   1989 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1956 William Harrison, Clarkson   1990 Terry Slater, Colgate
1957 Jack Riley, Army   1991 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan
1958 Harry Cleverly, Boston University   1992 Ron Mason, Michigan State
1959 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   1993 George Gwozdecky, Miami
1960 Jack Riley, Army   1994 Don Lucia, Colorado College
1961 Murray Armstrong, Denver   1995 Shawn Walsh, Maine
1962 Jack Kelley, Colby   1996 Bruce Crowder, UMass Lowell
1963 Tony Frasca, Colorado College   1997 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1964 Tom Eccleston, Jr., Providence   1998 Tim Taylor, Yale
1965 Jim Fullerton, Brown   1999 Richard Umile, New Hampshire
1966 Amo Bessone, Michigan State
Len Ceglarski, Clarkson
  2000 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1967 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   2001 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1968 Ned Harkness, Cornell   2002 Tim Whitehead, Maine
1969 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2003 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1970 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2004 Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth
1971 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   2005 George Gwozdecky, Denver
1972 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   2006 Enrico Blasi, Miami
1973 Len Ceglarski, Boston College   2007 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
1974 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2008 Red Berenson, Michigan
1975 Jack Parker, Boston University   2009 Jack Parker, Boston University
1976 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2010 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1977 Jerry York, Clarkson   2011 Nate Leaman, Union
1978 Jack Parker, Boston University   2012 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1979 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2013 Norm Bazin, UMass Lowell
1980 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan   2014 Rick Bennett, Union
1981 Bill O'Flaherty, Clarkson   2015 Mike Hastings, Minnesota State
1982 Ferny Flaman, Northeastern   2016 Rand Pecknold, Quinnipiac
1983 Bill Cleary, Harvard   2017 Jim Montgomery, Denver
1984 Mike Sertich, Minnesota-Duluth