March 20, 2018
2017-18 Division II-III Men's Coach of the Year Finalists Announced

Fourteen coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2017-18 have been named finalists for the Edward Jeremiah Award, given annually to the College Division Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year. Named in honor of the former Dartmouth head coach and sponsored by CCM, the Jeremiah Award will be presented during the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Convention on Wednesday, April 25, in Naples, FL.

The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference this past season, along with coaches whose teams have advanced to the 2018 NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship. Of this year's finalists, four are past recipients: Tim Coghlin of St. Norbert College (2008, and 2011), Matt Loen of UW-Eau Claire (2013), Mike McShane of Norwich (2008-10, 2013 and 2017) and Jeff Meredith of Fredonia State (1994.) Of the four NCAA semifinalists, only Zech Klann of Salve Regina was a conference Coach of the Year recipient.

The winner will be announced Thursday evening at the student-athlete banquet at the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championships being played this weekend in Lake Placid, NY.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

2017-18 AHCA Men's Ice Hockey
Edward Jeremiah Award (Division III Coach of the Year) Finalists

Lance Brady, Assumption, Northeast 10 Coach of the Year
Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert (NCHA), NCAA Semifinalist*
Dean Fuller, Fitchburg State, MASCAC Coach of the Year
Zech Klann, Salve Regina, CCC Coach of the Year, NCAA Semifinalist
Tyler Krueger, Stevens Point (WIAC), NCAA Semifinalist
Adam Krug, Adrian, NCHA Coach of the Year
Matt Loen, Eau Claire, WIAC Co-Coach of the Year*
Blaise MacDonald, Colby (NESCAC), NCAA Semifinalist
Mike McShane, Norwich, NEHC Coach of the Year*
Jeff Meredith, Fredonia, SUNYAC Coach of the Year*
Don Parsons, Lebanon Valley, UCHC Coach of the Year
Brett Petersen, Gustavus Adolphus, MIAC Coach of the Year
Jim Ward, Connecticut College, NESCAC Coach of the Year
Terry Watkins, Stout, WIAC Co-Coach of the Year
* Past Jeremiah Award Winner

Previous Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
(Division III Coach of the Year)
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts   1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont   1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State   1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury   1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus   2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell   2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State   2003 George Roll, Oswego State
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson   2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State   2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson   2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State   2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
  Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross   2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State   2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
1985 Rob Riley, Babson   2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich   2012 Jack Arena, Amherst College
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2013 Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2014 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury   2015 Jack Arena, Amherst College
1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2016 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
Peter Belisle, UMass Boston
1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut   2017 Mike McShane, Norwich
1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point