March 27, 2018
Finalists Announced for Spencer Penrose Award
Given to CCM/AHCA Men's Hockey Division I Coach of the Year

Nine coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2017-18 have been named finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the CCM/AHCA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year. Voting will be conducted prior to this year's Frozen Four in Chicago, and the winner will be announced on Wednesday, April 4.

The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference this past season, along with coaches whose teams have advanced to the NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey semifinals. Of this year's finalists, three are past recipients of this award: Jeff Jackson of Notre Dame (2007), Scott Sandelin of Minnesota Duluth (2004) and Jerry York of Boston College (1977 while at Clarkson.)

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAA championship hockey tournaments. The actual award will be presented at the AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Naples, Florida, on Wednesday evening, April 25.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

2017-2018 AHCA Men's Ice Hockey Spencer Penrose Award Finalists
(CCM/AHCA Division I Coach of the Year)

Rick Gotkin, Mercyhurst, AHA Coach of the Year
Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame (Big 10), Frozen Four Coach*
Bob Motzko, St. Cloud State, NCHC Coach of the Year
Mel Pearson, Michigan (Big 10), Frozen Four Coach
Grant Potulny, Northern Michigan, WCHA Coach of the Year
Steve Rohlik, Ohio State, Big 10 Coach of the Year, Frozen Four Coach
Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth (NCHC), Frozen Four Coach*
Mike Schafer, Cornell, ECAC Coach of the Year
Jerry York, Boston College, HE Coach of the Year*
* Past Spencer Penrose Award Winner

Winners of the Spencer Penrose Award
(Division I Coach of the Year)
1951 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1985 Len Ceglarski, Boston College
1952 Cheddy Thompson, Colorado College   1986 Ralph Backstrom, Denver
1953 John Mariucci, Minnesota   1987 John "Gino" Gasparini, North Dakota
1954 Vic Heyliger, Michigan   1988 Frank Anzalone, Lake Superior
1955 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   1989 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1956 William Harrison, Clarkson   1990 Terry Slater, Colgate
1957 Jack Riley, Army   1991 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan
1958 Harry Cleverly, Boston University   1992 Ron Mason, Michigan State
1959 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   1993 George Gwozdecky, Miami
1960 Jack Riley, Army   1994 Don Lucia, Colorado College
1961 Murray Armstrong, Denver   1995 Shawn Walsh, Maine
1962 Jack Kelley, Colby   1996 Bruce Crowder, UMass Lowell
1963 Tony Frasca, Colorado College   1997 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1964 Tom Eccleston, Jr., Providence   1998 Tim Taylor, Yale
1965 Jim Fullerton, Brown   1999 Richard Umile, New Hampshire
1966 Amo Bessone, Michigan State
Len Ceglarski, Clarkson
  2000 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1967 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   2001 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1968 Ned Harkness, Cornell   2002 Tim Whitehead, Maine
1969 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2003 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1970 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2004 Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth
1971 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   2005 George Gwozdecky, Denver
1972 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   2006 Enrico Blasi, Miami
1973 Len Ceglarski, Boston College   2007 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
1974 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2008 Red Berenson, Michigan
1975 Jack Parker, Boston University   2009 Jack Parker, Boston University
1976 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2010 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1977 Jerry York, Clarkson   2011 Nate Leaman, Union
1978 Jack Parker, Boston University   2012 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1979 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2013 Norm Bazin, UMass Lowell
1980 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan   2014 Rick Bennett, Union
1981 Bill O'Flaherty, Clarkson   2015 Mike Hastings, Minnesota State
1982 Ferny Flaman, Northeastern   2016 Rand Pecknold, Quinnipiac
1983 Bill Cleary, Harvard   2017 Jim Montgomery, Denver
1984 Mike Sertich, Minnesota-Duluth