April 3, 2018
Jeff Jackson is 2017-18 CCM/AHCA Division I Men's Coach of the Year
It is the second Spencer Penrose Award for Notre Dame Head Coach

For his efforts in leading the the University of Notre Dame to the Big Ten regular season and tournament titles and into this year's NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championships, Jeff Jackson of Notre Dame has been chosen winner of the 2018 Spencer Penrose Award as Division I Men's Ice Hockey CCM/AHCA Coach of the Year. For Jackson, it is the second such honor as his peers bestowed this award on him back in 2007 as well. He will receive his award on Wednesday evening, April 25, launching the American Hockey Coaches Association's annual convention in Naples, FL.

The 2017-18 Irish have compiled a mark of 27-9-2 heading into a Thursday night semifinal against Big Ten rival Michigan. Notre Dame has been battle tested in recent weeks as it comes to St. Paul off of two championships and four straight one-goal victories. The Big Ten tournament championship came after a 3-2 semifinal win over Penn State and a 3-2 OT triumph over Ohio State. At the NCAA Northeast Regional in Bridgeport, CT, the Irish prevailed by way of 4-3 OT and 2-1 wins over Michigan Tech and Providence, respectively.

Jackson is one of the iconic coaching figures in college hockey. He has had success at two NCAA institutions, taking a leave from college hockey for a decade in between. From 1990-1996, Jackson was the head coach at Lake Superior State, compiling a record of 182-52-25 (.751). In that time, Jackson won 30 or more games in five of his six seasons and captured the 1992 and 1994 NCAA titles.

Jackson returned to college hockey when he became head coach at Notre Dame prior to the start of the 2005-06 season. He was the CCHA Coach of the Year three times and he has taken Notre Dame teams to the NCAA Frozen Four four times, including the current edition. Overall, Jackson is 477-228-79 in 19 seasons, with a Notre Dame record of 295-176-54 in 13 seasons.

In between his college stints, Jackson enjoyed a variety of experiences, starting with USA Hockey and their new development model in 1996 and then moving to Guelph of the OHL and then on to the New York Islanders as an assistant coach. A former goaltender, Jackson graduated from Michigan State in 1978.

Assisting Jackson this season were Paul Pooley, Andy Slaggert and Zach Cisek. All will be recognized in Naples.

The runner-up for this year's AHCA Men's Division I Coach of the Year award was Steve Rohlik, head coach at The Ohio State University, also an NCAA Division I semifinalist.

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAAchampionship hockey tournaments.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

Winners of the Spencer Penrose Award
(Division I Coach of the Year)
1951 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1985 Len Ceglarski, Boston College
1952 Cheddy Thompson, Colorado College   1986 Ralph Backstrom, Denver
1953 John Mariucci, Minnesota   1987 John "Gino" Gasparini, North Dakota
1954 Vic Heyliger, Michigan   1988 Frank Anzalone, Lake Superior
1955 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   1989 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1956 William Harrison, Clarkson   1990 Terry Slater, Colgate
1957 Jack Riley, Army   1991 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan
1958 Harry Cleverly, Boston University   1992 Ron Mason, Michigan State
1959 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   1993 George Gwozdecky, Miami
1960 Jack Riley, Army   1994 Don Lucia, Colorado College
1961 Murray Armstrong, Denver   1995 Shawn Walsh, Maine
1962 Jack Kelley, Colby   1996 Bruce Crowder, UMass Lowell
1963 Tony Frasca, Colorado College   1997 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1964 Tom Eccleston, Jr., Providence   1998 Tim Taylor, Yale
1965 Jim Fullerton, Brown   1999 Richard Umile, New Hampshire
1966 Amo Bessone, Michigan State
Len Ceglarski, Clarkson
  2000 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1967 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   2001 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1968 Ned Harkness, Cornell   2002 Tim Whitehead, Maine
1969 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2003 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1970 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2004 Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth
1971 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   2005 George Gwozdecky, Denver
1972 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   2006 Enrico Blasi, Miami
1973 Len Ceglarski, Boston College   2007 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
1974 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2008 Red Berenson, Michigan
1975 Jack Parker, Boston University   2009 Jack Parker, Boston University
1976 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2010 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1977 Jerry York, Clarkson   2011 Nate Leaman, Union
1978 Jack Parker, Boston University   2012 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1979 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2013 Norm Bazin, UMass Lowell
1980 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan   2014 Rick Bennett, Union
1981 Bill O'Flaherty, Clarkson   2015 Mike Hastings, Minnesota State
1982 Ferny Flaman, Northeastern   2016 Rand Pecknold, Quinnipiac
1983 Bill Cleary, Harvard   2017 Jim Montgomery, Denver
1984 Mike Sertich, Minnesota-Duluth   2018 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame