March 21, 2019
Tyler Krueger of UWSP Is Edward Jeremiah Award Winner As 2018-19 AHCA Division II-III Men's Coach of the Year

For leading the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point into the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockley Championships, Tyler Krueger has been named winner of the Edward Jeremiah Award as the CCM/AHCA Division III Men's Coach of the Year. The Pointers will meet Hobart in the NCAA Semifinals at K.B. Willett Ice Arena in Stevens Point, Wisconsin, on Friday night at 7:00 p.m.

In his first season as head coach without the interim tag, Tyler Krueger has guided the Pointers to the only unbeaten record in the country this season (27-0-2). The current 29-game unbeaten streak is the longest in program history. He was named Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Coach of the Year after leading UWSP to its third-straightregular season title and an unblemished 8-0-0 record in league play. His career record over two seasons at UWSP is 48-6-5.

Under his tutelage, Krueger's goaltender, sophomore Connor Ryckman, set a program single-season record with his 24th win on Saturday. In 1,749 minutes of action this season, Krueger's team has trailed for just 34 minutes.

Krueger was hired as head coach on May 31, 2018. He served as interim head coach for the 2017-18 season and led the Pointers to the Frozen Four. UWSP won the regular season WIAC title with an undefeated 6-0-2 record and he led the Pointers to an NCAA Tournament road win at Adrian in the second round to advance to Lake Placid.

He spent the previous three seasons on the staff of former head coach Chris Brooks, most recently as associate head coach. He was a pivotal part of the Pointers' three-year run to the National Championship game in 2014, 2015 and 2016. From behind the bench, Krueger helped UWSP win its first WIAC Tournament title and fifth National Championship in 2016.

Prior to joining the coaching staff, Krueger was a four-year member of the Pointers hockey team. He skated in 79 games as a Pointer with two goals, 15 assists and a plus/minus of +34 for his career. He captained the 2014 team that reached the NCAA title game. A Stevens Point native, Krueger graduated from UWSP in 2014 with a bachelor of science degree in health promotion and wellness.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. Krueger was assisted this year by Evan Dixon and Zach Badalamenti. The runner-up for the Jeremiah Award was Chris Schultz of Geneseo, receipient of this award in both 2014 and 2016.

Krueger and his staff will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Men's Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Wednesday, May 1.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
(Division III Coach of the Year)
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts   1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont   1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State   1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury   2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus   2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell   2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   2003 George Roll, Oswego State
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State   2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson   2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State   2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson   2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State   2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
  Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross   2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State   2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
1985 Rob Riley, Babson   2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2012 Jack Arena, Amherst College
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich   2013 Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2014 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2015 Jack Arena, Amherst College
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury   2016 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
Peter Belisle, UMass Boston
1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2017 Mike McShane, Norwich
1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut   2018 Blaise MacDonald, Colby College
1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point   2019 Tyler Krueger, UW-Stevens Point
1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia