Northeastern’s Dave Flint is 2023 Winner of the CCM/AHCA Division I Women’s Coach of the Year Award

For again leading his team into the NCAA National Collegiate Championship Semifinals, Dave Flint of Northeastern University has been chosen CCM/AHCA Women’s Division I Coach of the Year. This is the second CCM/AHCA Coach of the Year honor for Flint, who also captured the award in 2021.

Flint and his Huskies take on defending NCAA champion Ohio State on Friday afternoon in Duluth (3:30 pm ET). This marks the third straight year Northeastern has advanced to the Frozen Four as it seeks the school’s — and Hockey East’s — first national championship.

The #5 seed in the tournament, NU brings a 22-game win streak into the semifinals, fresh off a 4-1 win at #4 Yale last Saturday. Under Flint’s guidance, Northeastern is 34-2-1 and boasts the country’s top defense (0.86 goals allowed per game) and best penalty killing unit (91.8%).

Flint has a career record of 409-154-44, combing four varsity years at Saint Anselm College and 13 seasons with Northeastern. Since 2005, he has worked a variety of roles with USA Hockey, including a stint as an assistant coach with the 2010 U.S. Olympic Team.

A 1993 graduate of North Adams State College (now the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts), he was a four-year member as a goalie on the varsity men’s ice hockey team. He was named Team MVP as a senior. Flint received his bachelor’s degree in Biology with a concentration in Sports Medicine. He is an Athletic Trainer Certified and a Certified Strength & Conditioning Specialist. Flint was assisted this season by Lindsay Berman, Nick Carpenito and Todd Lampert. The runner-up for this year’s CCM/AHCA Division I Women’s Coach of the Year Award was Nadine Muzerall of the Ohio State University.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

Winners of the CCM/AHCA Women’s Division I Coach of the Year Award
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth
2001 Paul Flanagan, St. Lawrence
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst
2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2011 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2012 Chris Wells, St. Lawrence
2013 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2014 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2015 Katie King Crowley, Boston College
2016 Katie Crowley, Boston College
2017 Maura Crowell, Minnesota Duluth
2018 Greg Fargo, Colgate
2019 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2020 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2021 Dave Flint, Northeastern
2022 Mark Bolding, Yale
2023 Dave Flint, Northeastern