Mark Taylor of Hobart College Is Jeremiah Award Winner As 2022-23 AHCA Division II-III Men’s Coach of the Year

For leading Hobart College into the NCAA Men’s Division III Frozen Four at Endicott College, Mark Taylor has been named winner of the 2023 Edward Jeremiah Award as the CCM/AHCA Division III Men’s Coach of the Year. For Taylor and the Satesmen, who take on host Endicott in a 7:00 p.m. semifinal on Friday, this is the first such award.

Taylor, the 2023 New England Hockey Conference Coach of the Year, guided the Statesmen to a 27-2-0 record entering the national semifinals. The 27 wins are the most in a single season in program history. The Statesmen went 19-0-0 on home ice this season on its way to capturing their second consecutive NEHC regular season title with a 16-2-0 mark in conference play. The Statesmen then defeated Babson 5-1 to claim the NEHC tournament title.

Taylor’s charges are first in the nation in scoring defense (1.18) and winning percentage (.929). The Statesmen are fourth in the nation in scoring margin (+2.82). Hobart is eighth in the nation in penalty-killing percentage (.894) and 18th in power-play percentage (.226). Taylor has guided the Statesmen to four straight 20 wins seasons and 20 consecutive winning seasons. His career record stands at 376-174-54. The Statesmen have been selected to eight straight NCAA tournaments and 12 overall. This is Hobart’s fourth trip to the national semifinals.

Now in his 23rd year, Mark Taylor continues to add to his reputation as the most successful coach in Hobart hockey history. Entering the national semifinals, he has compiled a record of 376-174-54 (.698), while earning 12 NCAA Tournament bids and four trips to the national semifinals (2006, 2009, 2019, 2023). He has been named the conference’s coach of the year eight times, earning recognition from the ECAC West six times (2003, 2004, 2006, 2009, 2015 and 2016) and the NEHC twice (2022, 2023).

A tremendous motivator and recruiter all of Hobart’s All-Americans. Five Statesmen have earned conference player of the year award recognition under Taylor’s leadership.

A 1985 graduate of Elmira College, Taylor was the Soaring Eagles MVP and an All-ECAC selection as a senior. He transferred to Elmira after a pair of National Junior College athletic Association Championships at SUNY Canton, earning All-American defenseman honors for the Northstars.

A native of Canton, N.Y., Taylor and his wife, Lauren, have three sons, Alexander, Dylan, and Jonathan. The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. Taylor was assisted this year by Tom Fiorentino. The runner-up for this year’s Jeremiah Award was R.J. Tolan of Endicott College.

Mandigo was assisted this year by Ashley Salerno. The runner-up for this year's award was Chris Baudo of Nazareth College.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
CCM/AHCA Division III Coach of the Year
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State
Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State
1985 Rob Riley, Babson
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut
1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point
1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
2003 George Roll, Oswego State
2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
2012 Jack Arena, Amherst College
2013 Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
2014 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
2015 Jack Arena, Amherst College
2016 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
Peter Belisle, UMass Boston
2017 Mike McShane, Norwich
2018 Blaise MacDonald, Colby College
2019 Tyler Krueger, UW-Stevens Point
2020 Cam Ellsworth, Norwich
2021 Not Awarded
2022 Adam Krug, Adrian College
2023 Mark Taylor, Hobart College